AMA District VIII AMA District VIII
Postings by Tom Holmsley
  District News

Horizon City RC Fliers

by Tom Holmsley   April 6, 2018

The Horizon City RC Fliers utilize two flying sites. One field was built by Danny Sander (kneeling in the green shirt), and to show Danny their appreciation for his contribution, members of the club presented this Horizon A-26 to him.

 Members of the Horizon City RC Fliers with Danny Sander in the green shirt. 

District News

3 Generations Change Windsock

by Tom Holmsley   March 27, 2018

Three generations replaced the windsock at the El Paso Radio Controllers Patriot Field. Don Geyer (standing right) started flying at the EPRC field in 1963, but started U-Control in the 1940s and also flew in Alaska and Germany. His son John, also standing, has been flying RC for many years, and he brought his son Ryan (on the ladder) into the hobby at an early age. All 3 are avid fliers and great supporters of the club.

 Don Geyer, standing right, John Geyer also standing, Ryan Geyer on the ladder. 


El Paso Radio Controllers STEM Event

by Tom Holmsley   February 12, 2018

On Saturday, February 10, The El Paso Radio Controllers participated in a Science, Technology, Engineering,and Mathematics Fair at the Harmony School of Innovation. They were able to inform the public about the hobby and their club and share information about The AMA.

 Holly Geyer, John Geyer pres, Ryan Geyer, Tom Holmsley, Fritz Gatlin, RickGatli 


El Paso Radio Controllers Ray Hall Event

by Tom Holmsley   December 6, 2017

The El Paso Radio Controllers held their annual Ray Hall Memorial Scale Model Airplane event on September 3, 2017 to honor Ray Hall and all members who have passed away since. Their field was established around 60 years ago in north east El Paso, and has been an outstanding club ever since. There were 60 airplanes and 28 pilots registered. There was plenty of flying, fellowship, and good food making for a great time for everyone. The C.D. was Fritz Gatlin.
The Officers are:
John Geyer, President
Joe Salazar, VP
Dennis Lee Linden, Treasurer
Rick Gatlin, Web Master
Mike Greeson, Safety Officer


Horizon City Swap Meet

by Tom Holmsley   December 6, 2017

The Horizon City RC Fliers met July 30, 2017 at Danny Sander's field for a great swap meet with lots of fun flying, good fellowship and plenty of good food. The Horizon City RC Fliers is an exceptional group that has been flying on the east side of El Paso for many years.
The club officers are:
Jeff McMillin President
John Verslype, VP
Mike Taylor, Secretary
Manfred Balster, Treasurer/Web Master
Preston Ramos, Safety Officer

Fly-In / Fun-Fly

Alamogordo RCers, July 8, 2017

by Tom Holmsley   December 5, 2017

The Alamogordo RCers is a great club in New Mexico located in the cradle of American's space program. It has a beautiful year 'round flying site at the foot of the Sacramento Mountains near the White Sands National Monument, The New Mexico Museum of Space History, and Holloman Air Force Base.
Their event took place on July 8, 2017. It was well attended and lots of fun with a variety of interesting air planes.
Their officers are:
Todd Pemka, President
John Harris, Treasurer
Maurice Morgan, Safety Officer

Fly-In / Fun-Fly

Mesilla Valley Model Airplane Club

by Tom Holmsley   December 5, 2017

June 10, 2017,was a great day for the Mesilla Valley Model Airplane Club in Las Cruces, New Mexico. The club was started in 1959 and is still very active today. They have an outstanding field with two paved runways and lots of shade courtesy of the City of Las Cruces.
19 pilots signed up for several fun events including a paint ball shoot-out, open flying, and drone flying.
Congratulations to the MVMAC and wish them continued success in the future.
Jerry de Long, President
Fred Upshaw, Safety Officer
Mike Moore, Contest Director
John Womack, Co-Contest Director


Vice President

Lawrence Harville


Control Line
District News
Fly-In / Fun-Fly
FPV Racing
Free Flight
Last Flight
Pylon Racing
Youth Leadership
All Topics

Check Out Your AVP

Benny Behrens
Tony Breyen
Bill Holland
Tom Holmsley
Johnny Hunt
Woody Lake
Jim Marshall
Stew Moore
Brian Regan
Jim Rice
Randy Ritch
Olen Rutherford
Douglas Staines
Gary Strickland
Cliff Town
Ed Valls
Jerry Walters
Bob Wilder

Email Webmaster