AMA District VIII AMA District VIII
  Free Flight

Hall of Fame induction for Jesse F Shepherd Sr

by    October 3, 2015

On the evening of the September 26th, the Texas Cloud Climbers held a dinner meeting for Jesse Shepherd Sr. I was given the honor to present Jesse his Hall of Fame plaque. Jesse first joined AMA in 1932. His first contest in participated in in 1936. Jesse served on the contest board in the 1950's and directed the NATs in the 50's and 60's. Jesse was presented the AMA service award, awarded two distinguished service awards, an AMA fellow award and the AMA pioneer award. Jesse is also a leader member and still active with his club designing aircraft.

It was a wonderful honor to present him as well as have the time to talk with him about his experiences.

Congrats to Jesse!!

  picture  picture 
 Jesse receiving his Hall of Fame Plaque All of the pilots and club at the event were all there to celebrate with Jesse 

Free Flight

Texas Cloud Climbers 68th annual Regional FF Championships

by    October 3, 2015

On September 26th and 27th the TEXAS CLOUD CLIMBERS held the 68TH ANnual Regional FF Championships at the Robson Ranch Site outside of Denton Texas. The CD was Jan Langelius and their were approx 30 pilots registered for the various events the were being held. The club had a great day of weather for flying. This was the first FreeFlight event that I was able to sit and enjoy both the change of pace in flying and the laid back comfortable atmosphere. The people, the club were an awesome group to visit.

If anyone that flys RC does not sit down and really look at this type of flight you will never know the amount of work and design that goes into

A great event and you have to go watch or participate.

  picture  picture 
 One of the many launches we watched The CD and others discussing scoring. 


Vice President

Lawrence Harville


Control Line
District News
Fly-In / Fun-Fly
FPV Racing
Free Flight
Last Flight
Pylon Racing
Youth Leadership
All Topics

Check Out Your AVP

Benny Behrens
Tony Breyen
Bill Holland
Tom Holmsley
Johnny Hunt
Stan Kopreski
Jim Marshall
Stew Moore
Brian Regan
Randy Ritch
Olen Rutherford
Douglas Staines
Gary Strickland
Cliff Town
Ed Valls
Jerry Walters

Email Webmaster