AMA District VIII AMA District VIII

Southeast Texas Warbird Rally

by Benny Behrens   November 4, 2017

On October 27th and 28th Jetero RC Club hosted their annual Southeast Texas Warbird Rally. I was unable to attend due to a timing conflict but Michael Jackson, CD sent the following write-up and it looks like I missed a great event:

On October 27th and 28th the Southeast Texas Warbird Rally hosted by the Jetero RC Club turned out to be an awesome event, despite the cold and windy conditions. We had 52 pilots that did an outstanding job of putting on a great show during the two day event. The highlight of the weekend was an epic 21 plane gaggle where all aircraft took off, flew well, and landed without incident. Lawrence Harville, AMA District VIII Vice President, attended the event on Friday and appeared to be having a really nice time. Thanks for coming Lawrence!!! We ended the day on Friday with some delicious catfish dinners catered by Mike’s Restaurant from Dayton, TX. Everyone was full and happy
The 2017 award winners are as follows:
Best WWI: Mark Kramer with the Balsa USA Sopwith Pup (The plane flew surprisingly well in the high winds)
Best WWII: Keith Fontenott with the Phoenix Models Spitfire (Keith did a fantastic job of weathering and detailing this aircraft)
Best Civilian: Deryl Rolle with the RV4 (Darryl flew this plane really well, Speed Fresh style)
Best Multi Engine: Randy Larsen with the F-82 (TRULY AWSOOOOOME!! This aircraft is a show stopper. Very nice flying Randy)
Fastest Warbird: Greg Yancy with the fast and furious Sweet Caroline P-51 Mustang
Best of Show: Larry Hultman and Glenn J Snedden with the two Ziroli Skyraiders (beautifully detailed and flown very well by both pilots)
Congratulations to all the award winners. Great job guys!!!
The Grand Raffle prize this year was the Top Flite Giant Scale Tarheel Hal P-47D Thunderbolt with Robart pneumatic main
retracts. The lucky winner was Andre Medveczky. Congrats Andre!!!
This success of the event would not have been possible without the support from the Jetero club members. Thank you for all of your hard work and dedication. A BIG THANK YOU to this year’s warbird sponsors: Randy’s Hobbies, Samano’s Hobbies, New Creations, VQ Warbirds, Tower Hobbies, Hobbico, Callie Graphics, Tru-Turn, Sullivan Products, RTL Fasteners, Bob Smith Industries, Big Dog RC, Pete and Mary Ruth Cyer, and the Jetero RC Club members.
I can’t forget my Texas Warbird Thunder Pilot brothers. Thank you all for making this an outstanding flying season. We went to many meets this year and flew hard and put on an outstanding show each and every time. GREAT JOB GUYS!!!!
Best Regards,
Michael "No Loops" Jackson

  picture  picture 


Vice President

Lawrence Harville


Control Line
District News
Fly-In / Fun-Fly
FPV Racing
Free Flight
Last Flight
Pylon Racing
Youth Leadership
All Topics

Check Out Your AVP

Benny Behrens
Tony Breyen
Bill Holland
Tom Holmsley
Johnny Hunt
Stan Kopreski
Jim Marshall
Stew Moore
Brian Regan
Randy Ritch
Olen Rutherford
Douglas Staines
Gary Strickland
Cliff Town
Ed Valls
Jerry Walters

Email Webmaster